AISFM and JNAFAU tie up to offer Media, Advertising courses

(AISFM) and Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University (JNAFAU) have signed a memorandum of understanding to offer new four-year undergraduate and two-year postgraduate degrees with specializations in media.

According to the agreement, AISFM and JNAFAU will offer the degrees with specializations in Advertising + Digital Marketing, Journalism + PR, Graphic + Multimedia Design, and Photography + Digital Imaging.

Admissions are open to the courses, which begin by July 2013. All classes will be conducted inside Annapurna Studios – a 22-acre campus featuring production facilities, studios, post-production, outdoor shooting locations and classrooms.

“The Indian media industry is growing at double the speed of the overall economy. Every sector of the media industry will need to recruit many additional trained professionals in order to expand and to explore new opportunities. We have designed these courses with significant industry consultation to ensure that the students meet employers’ needs,” Nagarjuna, president of AISFM, told reporters.

“We understand that talent lies in all areas of our country, so we are launching scholarships of up to 75 percent of the course fees, to support students from financially-weaker backgrounds,” said Nagarjuna, a popular Telugu actor.

“This academic collaboration is an exciting step in creating the future of media education in India. The industry is changing quickly and students now need a combination of creative, technical and professional skills in order to build their careers. JNAFAU and AISFM can provide these skills,” said P. Padmavathi, in-charge vice chancellor of JNAFAU.

Geetika Tondon, vice president, academics of AISFM, said they have been developing the curriculum for the course over the last two years, combining input from leading international media schools with input from the Indian media industry.

Well known filmmakers, directors, industry experts and actors including Mani Ratnam, Kamal Hassan,Govind Nihalani, Farah Khan, Karan Johar, Gautam Menon, K Raghavendra Rao, Hema Malini, Shabana Azmi, Javed Akhtar and Anurag Kashyap are part of AISFM’s academic advisory council.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s